The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 


Awards are open to candidates from IADR Divisions and non-Division Sections. The number of candidates is determined by a formula based on membership. The selected candidates will be eligible to compete in the IADR Unilever Hatton Competition and Awards.

2012 Recipients:

Junior Category
1st Place: Jonathan An - 
University of Washington, Seattle, USA
2nd Place: Patricia Brooks - University of Western Ontario, Canada

Senior Category (Basic Science)
1st Place: Mildred Embree
 - Columbia University, New York, USA
2nd Place: Farhan Khan - Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia, Canada

Senior Category (Clinical Research) 
1st Place: Gerald McKenna
 - University College Cork, Ireland
2nd Place: Mervi Gursoy - University of Turku, Finland

2011 Recipients:

Junior Category:
1st Place: Grace Lee
 -  University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand
2nd Place: Katherine O'Donnell - Queen's University of Belfast, Ireland

Senior Category (Basic Science):
1st Place: Luciana Branco-de-Almeida
 - FOP/UNICAMP, Piracicaba SP, Brazil
2nd Place: Jeffrey Kim - University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Senior Cateogry (Clinical Research):
1st Place: Nicola Innes
 - University of Dundee, Scotland, UK
2nd Place: Maria del Carmen Villanueva Vilchis - National University of Mexico

2010 Recipients:

Junior Category:
1st Place: Paul Hooi - University of Dublin, Ireland
2nd Place: Jia Hao - University of Western Ontario, London, Canada

Senior Category (Basic Science):
1st Place: Niroshani Soysa - Tokyo Medical & Dental University, Japan
2nd Place: Kheng Tan - University of Melbourne, Carlton, Australia

Senior Category (Clinical Research)
1st Place:  David Conway - University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
2nd Place: Maria Athanassiou-Papaefthymiou - University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, US

2009 Recipients:

Junior Category:
1st Place: Alexander Nee - University of California, San Francisco
2nd Place: Bo Yu - University of California, Los Angeles 
2nd Place: Jaime Diaz - University of Los Andes, Santiago, Chile

Senior Category (Basic Science)
1st Place: Turki Alhazzazi
- University of Michigan, Ann Arbor 
2nd Place: Sutipalin Suwannakul - University of Sheffield, United Kingdom

Senior Category (Clinical Research)
1st Place: Elham Emami
- University of Montreal, Canada 
2nd Place: no recipient

2008 Recipients:

Junior Category:
1st Place: Shilpa Raju
- University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand
2nd Place: Erica Scheller - University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Senior Category (Basic Science)
1st Place: Hugh Kim
- University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2nd Place: Lauren Turner - Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia, USA

Senior Category (Clinical Research)
1st Place: Adriana Pérez-Soria
- Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico City, Mexico
2nd Place: Samar Khoury - Université de Montréal, Quebec, Canada

2007 Recipients:

Junior Category:
1st Place: Aisling Daly 
- Queen’s University of Belfast, UK
1st Place: Richard Damerau - Barts & the London Queen Mary's School of Medicine & Dentistry, UK

Senior Category (Basic Science)
1st Place: Shigeyuki Ozawa
- Kanagawa Dental College, Japan
1st Place: Nan Hatch - University of Michigan, USA
2nd Place: Danielle DiCara - Barts & the London Queen Mary's School of Medicine & Dentistry, UK
2nd Place: Leanne Taylor - The University of Melbourne, Australia

Senior Category (Clinical Research)
No recipients.

2006 Recipients:

Junior Category:
1st Place:
Jonathan Collier -  British Division
2nd Place: Vincenzo D’Antò - Continental European Division 

Senior Category (Basic Science)
1st Place:
Maria Nystrom - British Division
2nd Place: Shashidharan Madhavan - American Association for Dental Research 

Senior Category (Clinical Research)
1st Place:
Samantha Byrne - Australian and New Zealand Division
2nd Place: Chrisovalantou Cheretakis - Canadian Division

2005 Recipients:

Junior Category
1st Place:
Jeremy Horst - University of Washington, Seattle
2nd Place: Monique Goris - University of Pretoria
Senior Cateogry    
1st Place:
Manish Arora - University of Sydney
2nd Place: Guive Balooch - University of California, San Francisco

Post Doctoral Category    
1st Place:
Xinquan Jiang - Shanghai Second Medical University
2nd Place: Karen Fong - University of Pennsylvania

2004 Recipients:

Junior Category
1st Place: 
Justin Barnes - Queen’s University of Belfast, United Kingdom
2nd Place: Adrian DeAngelis - University of Melbourne, Australia

Senior Category
1st Place:
Andrew Fribley - University of Michigan, USA
2nd Place: Elizabeth Fozo - University of Rochester, USA

Post-doctoral Category
1st Place:
Ulrike Späte - Forsyth Institute, USA
2nd Place: Silvana Pagagerakis - University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, USA