The Science Awards Committee has the responsibility of selecting awardees from among the nominations of renowned scientists submitted by Association members. The Committee consists of the Science Awards chair and the subcommittee chair for each award. The subcommittee members are composed of the previous award recipients. Appointments are made annually for a period of five years on a rotation basis. Any IADR member may nominate a candidate for a science award. Once a nomination is made, it is considered each year for five years unless the nominee is selected for an award during this period. After the fifth year, the nomination is withdrawn unless a re-nomination is received. 

Basic Research in Biological Mineralization Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Paul Krebsbach
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA

Basic Research in Periodontal Disease Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Martin Taubman
Forsyth Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Martin Downer
University of Manchester, Bristol, England, UK

Craniofacial Biology Research Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Bjorn Olsen
Harvard University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Geriatric Oral Research Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline

Paula Moynihan
Newcastle University, England, UK

H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

W. Murray Thomson
University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand

Isaac Schour Memorial Award

Supported by an endowment provided by Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat and Rhoda G. Sarnat through the Sarnat Family Foundation

Antonios Mikos
Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA

Oral Medicine & Pathology Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Lakshman Samaranayake
University of Hong Kong

Pharmacology/ Therapeutics/ Toxicology Research Award

Supported by Wyeth Consumer Healthcare

Sharon Gordon
University of Maryland, Baltimore, USA

Pulp Biology & Regeneration Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Hervé Lesot
Universite de Strasbourg, France

Research in Dental Caries Award

Supported by Johnson & Johnson Consumer, Inc.

Svante Twetman
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Research in Oral Biology Award

Supported by Church & Dwight Co., Inc.

Sharon Wahl
NIDCR, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Research in Prosthodontics and Implants Award

Supported by Astra Tech, Inc.

Ronald Ettinger
University of Iowa, Iowa City, USA

Salivary Research Award

Supported by Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Company

Roland Jonsson
University of Bergen, Norway

Wilmer Souder Award

Supported by the William T. Sweeney Memorial Fund & by the IADR Dental Materials Group

Sally Marshall
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Young Investigator Award

Supported by P&G Professional Oral Health, Crest + Oral-B

Paul Cooper
University of Birmingham, England, UK