The Science Awards Committee has the responsibility of selecting awardees from among the nominations of renowned scientists submitted by Association members. The Committee consists of the Science Awards chair and the subcommittee chair for each award. The subcommittee members are composed of the previous award recipients. Appointments are made annually for a period of five years on a rotation basis. Any IADR member may nominate a candidate for a science award. Once a nomination is made, it is considered each year for five years unless the nominee is selected for an award during this period. After the fifth year, the nomination is withdrawn unless a re-nomination is received. 

Basic Research in Biological Mineralization Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Cun-Yu Wang
University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Basic Research in Periodontal Disease Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Shinya Murakami
Osaka University, Japan

Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

A. John Spencer
The University of Adelaide, Australia

Craniofacial Biology Research Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Jill A. Helms
Stanford University, California, USA

Geriatric Oral Research Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline

Frauke Müller
University of Geneva, Switzerland

H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Janet Clarkson
Dundee Dental Education Centre, Dundee, Scotland

Isaac Schour Memorial Award

Supported by an endowment provided by Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat and Rhoda G. Sarnat through the Sarnat Family Foundation

Peter X. Ma
University Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA

Oral Medicine & Pathology Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Richard Jordan
University of California, San Francisco, USA

Pharmacology/ Therapeutics/ Toxicology Research Award

Supported by The PTT Group

Keith Kirkwood
Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, USA

Pulp Biology & Regeneration Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Songtao Shi
Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC, Los Angeles, USA

Research in Dental Caries Award

Supported by Johnson & Johnson Consumer, Inc.

Elmar Hellwig
Albert Ludwigs University, Freiburg, Germany

Research in Oral Biology Award

Supported by Church & Dwight Co., Inc.

Christopher Overall
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

Research in Prosthodontics and Implants Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona Implants

Yasumasa Akagawa
Hiroshima University, Japan

Salivary Research Award

Supported by Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Company

Masataka Murakami
National Institute for Physiological Sciences, Okazaki, Japan

Wilmer Souder Award

Supported by an endowment provided by the IADR Dental Materials Group

John M. Powers
Dental Consultants, Inc., Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Young Investigator Award

Supported by P&G Professional Oral Health, Crest + Oral-B

Brian L. Foster
National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, USA