The Science Awards Committee has the responsibility of selecting awardees from among the nominations of renowned scientists submitted by Association members. The Committee consists of the Science Awards chair and the subcommittee chair for each award. The subcommittee members are composed of the previous award recipients. Appointments are made annually for a period of five years on a rotation basis. Any IADR member may nominate a candidate for a science award. Once a nomination is made, it is considered each year for five years unless the nominee is selected for an award during this period. After the fifth year, the nomination is withdrawn unless a re-nomination is received. 

Basic Research in Biological Mineralization Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

John Timothy Wright
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Basic Research in Periodontal Disease Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Dana Graves
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Richard Watt
University College London, England, UK

Craniofacial Biology Research Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Jill Dixon
The University of Manchester, England, UK

Geriatric Oral Research Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline

William Murray Thomson
University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand

H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Marilia Buzalaf
University of São Paulo, Brazil

Isaac Schour Memorial Award

Supported by an endowment provided by Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat and Rhoda G. Sarnat through the Sarnat Family Foundation

John Jansen
Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Center, The Netherlands

Oral Medicine & Pathology Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care

Saman Warnakulasuriya
King’s College London, England, UK

Pharmacology/ Therapeutics/ Toxicology Research Award

Frederick Curro
New York University, USA

Pulp Biology & Regeneration Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Misako Nakashima
National Institute for Longevity Sciences, Aichi, Japan

Research in Dental Caries Award

Supported by Johnson & Johnson Consumer, Inc.

Israel Kleinberg
Stony Brook University, New York, USA

Research in Oral Biology Award

Supported by Church & Dwight Co., Inc.

Floyd Dewhirst
The Forsyth Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Research in Prosthodontics and Implants Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona Implants

Takahiro Ogawa
University of California, Los Angeles

Salivary Research Award

Supported by Wm. Wrigley, Jr. Company

Indu Ambudkar
NIH, NIDCR, Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Wilmer Souder Award

Supported by an endowment provided by the IADR Dental Materials Group

Susanne Scherrer
University of Geneva, Switzerland

Young Investigator Award

Supported by P&G Professional Oral Health, Crest + Oral-B

Dean Ho
University of California, Los Angeles, USA