The Science Awards Committee has the responsibility of selecting awardees from among the nominations of renowned scientists submitted by Association members. The Committee consists of the Science Awards chair and the subcommittee chair for each award. The subcommittee members are composed of the previous award recipients. Appointments are made annually for a period of five years on a rotation basis. Any IADR member may nominate a candidate for a science award. Once a nomination is made, it is considered each year for five years unless the nominee is selected for an award during this period. After the fifth year, the nomination is withdrawn unless a re-nomination is received. 

Basic Research in Biological Mineralization Award

Martha Somerman
NIDCR, Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Award

Supported by DentaQuest Institute and the DentaQuest Foundation

Sarah Baker
University of Sheffield, England, UK

Craniofacial Biology Research Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Brad Amendt
University of Iowa, Iowa City, USA

Geriatric Oral Research Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline

Takahiro Ono
Niigata University, Japan

Global Oral Health Research Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline

Poul Erik Petersen
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Ernest Newbrun
University of California, San Francisco

Isaac Schour Memorial Award

Supported by an endowment provided by Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat and Rhoda G. Sarnat through the Sarnat Family Foundation

Huakun Xu
University of Maryland, Baltimore, USA

Oral Medicine & Pathology Research Award

Takashi Takata
Hiroshima University, Japan

Pharmacology/ Therapeutics/ Toxicology Research Award

Supported by 3M Oral Care

John Bartlett
The Ohio State University, Columbus, USA

Pulp Biology & Regeneration Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona

Imad About
Aix-Marseille University, France

Research in Oral Biology Award

Supported by Church & Dwight Co., Inc.

S. Jeffrey Dixon
The University of Western Ontario, London, ON, Canada

Research in Periodontal Disease Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company

Iain Chapple
University of Birmingham, England, UK

Research in Prosthodontics and Implants Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona Implants

Donald Brunette
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

Salivary Research Award

Gordon Proctor
King’s College London, England, UK

William H. Bowen Research in Dental Caries Award

Supported by Johnson & Johnson Consumer, Inc.

Hyun (Michel) Koo
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

Wilmer Souder Award

Supported by an endowment provided by the IADR Dental Materials Group

Mutlu Özcan
University of Zurich, Switzerland

Young Investigator Award

Supported by P&G Professional Oral Health, Crest + Oral-B

Alireza Moshaverinia
University of California, Los Angeles, USA