The Innovation in Oral Care Awards (“Award(s)”) are jointly sponsored by IADR and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), with funding provided exclusively by GSK. The IADR mission is to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being worldwide. It does so through its Divisions and Sections as well as in partnership with international dental associations, industry, health agencies, and scientific and educational professional organizations. These innovation awards offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have a direct impact on the oral health of the public.

2011 Recipients:

Scott DeRossi
Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, USA and co-investigators Douglas Dickinson, Stephen Hsu, Stephen Looney and Kalu Ogbureke
“A Natural Formulation for Patients Diagnosed with Xerostomia”

David T. Wong
University of California, Los Angeles, USA
"SCPSS: Enabling Technologies for Salivary Biomarkers for Clinical Applications"

Hui Wu
University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA and co-investigators Suzanne Michalek and Christian Melander (North Carolina State University)
"Development of Small Molecules that Inhibit and Disperse Carciogenic Biofilms"

2010 Recipients:

Robert Patrick Allaker
Queen Mary & Westfield College, University of London, UK and co-investigators Jie Huang, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University College London and Guogang Ren, School of Aerospace, Automotive and Design Engineering, University of Hertfordshire Hatfield, UK
“Multifunction Nano-biomaterials for Implant-based Dental Reconstruction Products”

Daniel Grenier
Groupe de Recherche en Ecologie Buccale, Université Laval, Quebec, Canada and co-investigator Francesco Epifano, Faculty of Pharmacy, University G. D'Annunzio of Chieti-Pescara Chieti Scalo, Italy
“Therapeutic Potential of Citrus Auraptene for Periodontal Disease”

Craig Miller
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry, Lexington, USA and co-investigator Jeffrey L. Ebersole
“POC Immunoassay Test Strip for the Diagnosis of Periodontal Disease”

2009 Recipients:

Rena D'Souza 
Baylor College of Dentistry, Texas A&M Health Science Center, USA and co-investigators Jeffrey Hartgerink, Departments of Chemistry and Bioengineering, Rice University, Houston, Texas and Gottfried Schmalz, University of Regensburg, Germany
“Nanostructured Peptide Hydrogels and Stem Cells for Dentin-Pulp Complex Regeneration”

Eric Reynolds
Melbourne Dental School, The University of Melbourne, Australia and co-investigator Stuart Dashper
"Development of Oxantel to Prevent Periodontopathogenic Biofilm Formation”

Sandra Bordin
University of Washington, Seattle, USA and co-investigator Xingde Li
“Optical Coherence Tomography for Non-Invasive Diagnosis of Periodontal Disorders"

2008 Recipients:

Urban Hägg 
Lakshman Samaranayake, Richard Kao, and Michelle Yuen, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
“A Natural Edible Agent for Reduction of Oral Biofilm”

Keith Kirkwood
Medical University of South Carolina, USA
"Targeting Post-transcriptional Signaling for Periodontitis"

David T.W. Wong
Wei Lao, and Fang Wei, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
 “SPITDX: A Universal Platform for Salivary Biomarker Detection"

2007 Recipients:

Toshihisa Kawai
Forsyth Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
"Noninvasive Gingival Delivery of FC-Conjugated Fusion Compounds”

Fionnuala T. Lundy 
and David Orr, School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen’s University, Belfast, Ireland and University of Ulster at Coleraine, Coleraine, United Kingdom
"Characterization of a Novel Calcitonin Gene-Related Peptide (CGRP) Cleavage Enzyme"

Gordon Ramage
Glasgow University Dental School & Hospital, Glasgow, Scotland
“Improving Oral Care Using Tea Tree Oil and Its Derivatives"

2006 Recipients:

Hyun (Michel) Koo
Thomas Foster, and Robert Quivey, Eastman Department of Dentistry, University of Rochester, USA
"A Novel Therapeutic Approach to Prevent Formation of Cariogenic Biofilm"

Yen-Tung Andy Teng
Eastman Department of Dentistry, University of Rochester, USA
"A Novel Therapeutic Human SCFV-Diabody For Aggressive Periodontitis"

Cun-Yu Wang 
and Lijian Jin, University of Michigan, School of Dentistry, USA, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
"Targeting IKK/NF-KB For Periodontitis"

2005 Recipients:

John Featherstone
Ling Zhan, Pamela DenBesten, Charles Hoover, and Stuart Gansky, University of California – San Francisco, USA
"A Novel Antibacterial Approach to Reduce Caries in Children"

Peter Holbrook
Thordis Kristmundsdottir, Halldor Thormar, and Skuli Skulason, University of Iceland, Iceland
"A Novel Treatment for Cold Sores"

Lin Tao
University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
"A Novel Formula Protects Infants from HIV"

2004 Recipients:

Jack Ferracane
John Mitchell, and Jack McCarthy, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, USA
"Novel Dental Desensitizing Agent Based on a Biomimetic Approach"

Doron Steinberg
Amram Mor, Michael Friedman, and Gilad Bachrach, Hebrew University Hadassah School of Medicine, Jerusalem, Israel
"Development of Pharmaceutical Technology for Sustained Release Delivery Systems of Antibacterial Peptides: The Effect on Dentla Biofilms and Oral Diseases"

Spencer W. Redding
Jose Lopez-Ribot, H. Ralph Rawls, and Gregg Siegel, University of Texas-San Antonio, USA
"Prevention of Candida Associated Denture Stomatitis"

Marie-Claude Amoureux
Peter Grandics, Nandani Rajapakse, and Susan Szathmary, Clarigen Inc., Carlsbad, CA, USA
"Binding of Quorum Sensing Molecules as Antibiofilm Strategy"

IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards - Interview with previous winners to mark 15 years since the award supported by GSK was started.

Previous Recipients