The Innovation in Oral Care Awards (“Award(s)”) are jointly sponsored by IADR and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), with funding provided exclusively by GSK. The IADR mission is to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being worldwide. It does so through its Divisions and Sections as well as in partnership with international dental associations, industry, health agencies, and scientific and educational professional organizations. These innovation awards offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have a direct impact on the oral health of the public.


Simone Duarte

New York University, USA and co-investigators Deepak Saxena and Nelson Silva

The Influence of Low-Temperature Plasma on Biofilms


Christopher Irwin

Queen’s University, Belfast, Ireland and co-investigators Fionnuala Lundy and Brian Walker

Peptide Mimetics of LL-37 as Novel Therapeutics for Periodontitis


Doron Steinberg

Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel and co-investigator Michael Friedman

Novel Sustained Release Varnish of Anti-Biofilm/Anti-Quorum-Sensing Agents Against Oral Biofilms

IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards - Interview with previous winners to mark 15 years since the award supported by GSK was started.

Previous Recipients