The Innovation in Oral Care Awards (“Award(s)”) are jointly sponsored by IADR and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), with funding provided exclusively by GSK. The IADR mission is to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being worldwide. It does so through its Divisions and Sections as well as in partnership with international dental associations, industry, health agencies, and scientific and educational professional organizations. These innovation awards offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have a direct impact on the oral health of the public.


Mikako Hayashi

Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, and co-investigators Takayoshi Nakano, Osaka University Graduate School of Engineering, Japan, and Reo Uemura, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Riboflavin-UVA Treatment Prevents Root Caries by Promoting Collagen Crosslinking


Grayson Marshall

University of California, San Francisco, USA and co-investigators Stefan Habelitz, Sally Marshall and Kuniko Saeki

Remineralizing Cement for Dentin Caries


Petros Papagerakis

University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada and co-investigators Nikos Chronis, University of Michigan College of Engineering and Silvana Papagerakis, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada

Intra-oral Device to Measure Time-dependent Saliva Biomarker Levels

IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards - Interview with previous winners to mark 15 years since the award supported by GSK was started.

Previous Recipients