The Innovation in Oral Care Awards (“Award(s)”) are jointly sponsored by IADR and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), with funding provided exclusively by GSK. The IADR mission is to advance research and increase knowledge for the improvement of oral health worldwide. It does so through its Divisions and Sections as well as in partnership with international dental associations, industry, health agencies, and scientific and educational professional organizations. These innovation awards offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have a direct impact on the oral health of the public.


Luiz Eduardo Bertassoni

Oregon Health and Science University Portland, OR
Co-Investigator: Gaurav Sahay

Intraoral Delivery of mRNA-nanoparticles for Genetic Treatment of Dentin Hypersensitivity


Prasanna Neelakantan

The University of Hong Kong Hong Kong, SAR China
Co-Investigators: Celine Levesque, Frederic Cuisinier, Pierre-Yves Collart Dutilleul, Chu Chun Hung, Lakshman Samanaranake and Nihal Bandara

A Dual-Acting, Nano-Capsulated Varnish for Targeted Prevention for Childhood Caries


Rajesh V. Lalla

University of Connecticut, Farmington, CT, USA
Co-Investigator: Diane Burgess

Novel Long-Acting Topical Anesthetic Product for Oral Mucositis Pain

IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards - Interview with previous winners to mark 15 years since the award supported by GSK was started.

Previous Recipients