The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Deadline: FEB, 2022

The objective of this new Mid-Career Award is to recognize IADR members who have demonstrated significant contribution to the science and application of dental materials research by their mid‐career with the aim to help attract and retain younger investigators in this field of dental materials research. To remain a vital and relevant organization, it is imperative for the DMG to maintain and invigorate our pipeline of researchers engaged in all aspects of traditional dental materials as well as materials-centered studies applied to the oral/facial complex. To encourage diverse, high-quality research perspectives and initiatives, we want to be fully inclusive in this outreach to include individuals from any institution as well as from all regions of the IADR - North America, Latin America, Europe, Africa/Middle East, and Asia/Pacific.

Application submission requirements and details:

  • The definition of a mid-career threshold applied here will provide for consideration of individuals who are at a minimum of five years beyond the granting of their Ph.D.
  • Prospective candidates for this award should be IADR/DMG members with at least a three-year record of participation as lead author on abstracts presented at IADR or related DMG-sponsored programs.
  • The application process requires the submission of:
    • a current CV;
    •  two letters of support from established and productive DMG members;
    • a brief narrative (one-page maximum) that highlights how the individual’s prior research accomplishments are anticipated to transition in work going forward (specific details not necessary but a general idea of the intended research direction is requested).
  • The application package must be submitted to the  DMG Awards Committee (Dr. Carmem S. Pfeifer - and Dr.  Marco Bottino - by January 31, 2022  with one awardee to be selected per year. The award will consist of a plaque and the provision of $2,000 for travel to an IADR meeting within that same year to accept the award, and $3,000 as an undesignated gift for the purposes of fostering continued research.


Past Recipients

2021 Recipient Vinicius Rosa (National University of Singapore)

2020 Recipient  Kumiko Yoshihara (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan) 

2019 Recipient  Bas Loomans Radboud University, Nijmegen, Netherlands)

2018 Recipient  Sunita Ho (University of California, San Francisco, USA)

2017 Recipient  Ulrich Lohbauer (Friedrich-Alexander University, Germany)