The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Peyton-Skinner Award & Ryge-Mahler Award

The Dental Materials Group (DMG) of the IADR makes two annual awards in recognition of the past contributions to Dental Materials science and research by four outstanding DMG scientists: Dr. Floyd Peyton, Dr. Eugene Skinner, Dr. Gunnar Ryge and Dr. David Mahler. The awards are made to recognize scientists who throughout their careers have made outstanding contributions to (1) innovation in dental materials (Peyton-Skinner award) and, (2) clinical research in dental materials (Ryge-Mahler award).


Nominations for the Peyton-Skinner award for innovation and Ryge-Mahler award for clinical research can be made by anyone but MUST include the following:

1. Nominee must be a current or past member of the IADR Dental Materials Group.

2. Nominations must include a Curriculum Vitae that provides supporting evidence that the nominee has made significant contributions to innovation in dental materials (Peyton-Skinner award) or clinical research in dental materials (Ryge-Mahler award).

3. A letter of nomination should highlight the major reasons and body of research/innovation for which the individual is being nominated. Work considered for this award should have resulted in publications in scientific, peer-reviewed journals and/or patents.



A plaque of recognition and cash award in the amount of $2,000 will be made for each award. The cash award is intended to provide travel and other support related to attending the IADR annual meeting and receiving the award in person at the DMG business meeting or reception.



A committee will review individuals newly nominated and those not selected during the last three successive selection periods. The award recipient will be formally announced during the business meeting of the Dental Materials Group at the IADR General Session & Exhibition and honored during the reception that follows. The committee may elect not to present an award if there is not an appropriate nominee.

Note: Past recipients of the IADR Wilmer Souder Award are not eligible, but acceptance of either of these two awards does not disqualify one for the Wilmer Souder Award.

Deadline for nominations: January 31, 2022.



The Award is supported by the Dental Materials Group of the IADR.



Please send nominations electronically to Dr. Carmem S. Pfeifer  ( and Dr. Marco Bottino  (, co-Chairs of the Awards Committee of the DMG-IADR.

Previous Recipients:

Ryge-Mahler Award

2021    Lawrence Gettleman (University of Louisville, Kentucky, USA)
2020    Mathilde C. Peters (University of Michigan, USA)
 2019    Gottfried Schmalz (University Hospital Regensburg, Germany)
 2018    Maria Fidela L. Navarro (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
 2017    Niek Opdam (Radboud University, The Netherlands)
 2016    Martin J. Tyas (University of Melbourne, Australia)
 2015    Thomas Hilton
 2014    Stephen R. Jefferies
 2013    Reinhard Hickel
 2012    Van Thompson
 2010    Stephen Bayne
 2008    Jack Mitchem
 2006    Joe Dennison
 2003    Karl F. Leinfelder
 2001    John Osborne
 1998    Malcolm Jendressen
 1995    Joseph P. Moffa
 1992    Gerald T. Charbeneau

Peyton-Skinner Award

2021     Sharon Stanford (American Dental Association, USA) 
2020    Yoav Finer (University of Toronto, Canada)
 2019    Richard B. T. Price (Dalhousie University, Canada)
 2018    Pui L. Fan (University of Tennessee, USA; University of  Hong Kong, Hong Kong; American Dental Association, USA; University of Michigan, USA)
 2017    Jorge Perdigão (University of Minnesota, USA)
 2016    Alvin I. Kobashigawa (Kerr Corporation)
 2015    Christopher Bowman
 2014    Chris Angeletakis
 2013    Joe Oxman
 2012    Sumita Mitra
 2010    Kuzuo Hirota
 2008    Joe Tucillo
 2006    Byoung Suh
 2003    Robert Erickson
 2001    Robert Probst
 1998    Robert Neiman
 1995    Clyde E. Ingersoll
 1992    [None presented]