The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Deadline: January 17, 2022


The IADR Microbiology/Immunology Group is offering travel awards. One is in honor of Dr. Susan Kinder Haake, and another in honor of Dr. Arnold Bleiweis, to enhance research and attract early career researchers into the field of oral microbiology and immunology. The group also provides additional travel awards for outstanding research by deserving students and postdoctoral fellows. Up to four travel grants are awarded per year.

The Susan Kinder Haake Award (sponsored by the IADR Microbiology/Immunology Group in the amount of $1000) was conceptualized by the Microbiology/Immunology (M/I) subgroup of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) to honor the memory of Dr. Kinder Haake, D.M.D., M. Dent. Sc., Ph.D., an exceptional colleague who made significant contributions to the discipline of oral microbiology given her seminal work as a clinician-scientist at the UCLA School of Dentistry. Dr. Haake was passionate about contributing her time, energy and skills to others and aiding in the advancement of her students and her profession. Accordingly, this award shall be given to a student in training who has conducted outstanding research on the microbial basis of oral infectious disease.

The Arnold Bleiweis Award (sponsored by the IADR Microbiology/Immunology Group in the amount of $1000) honors the memory of Dr. Arnold Sheldon Bleiweis, Ph.D., former chair of the Department of Oral Biology, at the University of Florida, College of Dentistry. Dr. Bleiweis was internationally recognized for his expertise in the pathogenesis of dental caries, and was awarded numerous academic honors including being elected to Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Xi, and receiving a National Institute of Dental Research MERIT Award. He was also instrumental in the development of the doctoral program in Oral Biology at UFCOD, and thus this award shall be given to a student in training who has conducted outstanding research on the microbial basis of oral infectious disease.



An abstract must be presented. The Awards are open to pre-doctoral or post-doctoral students (who must be within 3 years of attaining a PhD) and who:

  • have an accepted abstract in Microbiology/Immunology;
  • are listed as the presenting author; and
  • have a member of the IADR Microbiology/Immunology Group as their mentor.



Abstract must be submitted for the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR by the official abstract submission deadline date, adhering to the required submission procedures. In the Awards section of the on-line abstract submission process select IADR Microbiology/Immunology Group Travel Awards.



Submitted abstracts for this award follow the same timetable as all other IADR submitted abstracts for the General Session & Exhibition. Deadlines are posted on the IADR Website at:



An awards committee consisting of the Group President, Treasurer, Past-President, Program Chair, and one other Session Organizer will determine the awardees. Award winners will be notified approximately two months after abstract submission.



Up to four awards will be given, each consisting of $1,000 to recognize research excellence and to assist with travel costs to attend the IADR General Session and Exhibition. The awards are non-transferable. The awards will be formally acknowledged at the Group business meeting.



For enquiries about these awards, please contact Hansel Fletcher, President, IADR Microbiology/Immunology Group at


Past Recipients

2020 Recipients
Susan Kinder Haake Award winner: Mahmoud khaled Elashiry (Augusta University, Georgia) 
Arnold Bleiweis Travel Grant winner: Hui Wang (University of Pennsylvania, USA) 

Microbiology/Immunology Travel award winners:
Jaden Sophien Lee (Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston)
Justin Ray Kaspar (University of Florida, Gainesville)                                        

2017 Recipients
Susan Kinder Haake Award winner: Hannah Norris (University at Buffalo, New York)
Arnold Bleiweis Travel Grant winner: Mohamed Meghil (Augusta University, Georgia)

Microbiology/Immunology Travel award winners:
Andrew Holtz (Middlebury College, Vermont)
Fan Zhu (University of Alabama at Birmingham)

2016 Recipients:
Susan Kinder Haake Award winner: Angela Ruscitto, University of Buffalo, New York, USA
Arnold Bleiweis Travel Grant winner: Chengcheng Liu, University of Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Microbiology/Immunology Travel Award: Irlan Freires, University of Campinas, Brazil
European-PER Travel Award: Peter Jorth, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA USA

2015 Recipients:
Susan Kinder Haake Award winner: Stephen Kasper - SUNY, Albany, New York, USA
Arnold Bleiweis Travel Grant winner: Alejandro Aviles-Reyes - University of Rochester, New York, USA

2013 Recipients:
Brodie Miles, Georgia Health Sciences University, Augusta, Georgia, USA
Louis Cornachione, Middlebury College, Vermont, USA
Catherine Back, University of Bristol, UK
Chulhee Choi, University of Florida at Gainesville, Florida, USA

2012 Recipients:
Michael J. Walters, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Jeffrey R. Haswell, Middlebury College, Vermont, USA