The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Supported by E.M.S. Electro Medical Systems S.A.

Deadline: December 31, 2020

This research award is sponsored by EMS and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group. The objective is to recognize investigators who have made innovative and significant contributions in the area of prevention and non-surgical treatment of periodontal and peri-implant diseases.


Nominees must be full members of the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG) at the time of application. A nominee shall have accomplished innovative and significant basic or clinical research related to prevention and non-surgical treatment of periodontal and peri-implant diseases. There is no age restriction for this award.



The award will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the IADR General Session & Exhibition. The award consists of a cash prize of 3000 Euro and a plaque.



Nominations are invited from the IADR PRG members and should be submitted electronically to the PRG (A/Prof. Axel Spahr, Dept. of Periodontics, Sydney Dental Hospital/University of Sydney, Department of Periodontology, 2 Chalmers St, NSW 2010, Sydney, Australia, email: 

The judging panel will comprise the President, President-elect, and Secretary who will review the nomination materials (see below) for each candidate. Individual panel members will independently rank the nominee’s and the highest overall ranking will be that year’s recipient. The panel’s decision will be final.

  • The main judging criteria will be innovation, relevance and importance of the research accomplished by the investigator in the field of prevention and non-surgical treatment of periodontal and peri-implant diseases and the scientific quality of the peer-reviewed publications as well as the impact his/her research has made on the development of new as well as the improvement/better understanding of current approaches in prevention and non-surgical treatment of periodontal and peri-implant diseases.
  • No panel member should have a personal interest in the participating projects.
  • The decision of the panel will be final and not open to appeal.
  • The winner will be the proposal with the highest total rank score of the three judges.
  • In the case of a tie, the applicant with the greatest number of first rank scores will be awarded the grant.
  • If there remains a tie, the Panel’s Chair will make the final decision.
  • Attendance at the IADR General Session as well as at the PRG business meeting in the year of the award is required. 
  • The PRG reserves the right to withhold an award.


Nomination must include:

  1. Name and contact information of nominee.
  2. 3 publications of nominee; and 
  3. short CV (NIH style).




Prof. Axel Spahr
Dept. of Periodontics
Sydney Dental Hospital/University of Sydney
Department of Periodontology
2 Chalmers St, NSW 2010
Sydney, Australia


Past Recipients

2020: Fridus Van der Weijden, ACTA, Netherlands    
2019: Niklaus Lang, University of Bern, Switzerland
2018: Keith Kirkwood, University at Buffalo, USA