The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

 Deadline for submission: March 31, 2021


This is the 15th year of this research grant, which is generously sponsored by Philips Oral Healthcare and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group.  The objective is to provide seed funding for a post-doctoral student/staff that is within 12-months of successfully completing a Ph.D. at the time of the submission deadline, and wishes to establish an independent program of research. The research grant will be awarded on a competitive basis annually. The winners to date have been: 2007 - Dr Fa-ming Chen from Fourth Military Medical University Xi’an P.R.China; 2008 - Dr Moritz Kebschull from Columbia University New York; 2009 - Dr Nagihan Bostanci, now of the Karolinska Institute Sweden;  2010 Dr Mandeep Ghuman of Kings College London; 2011 - Dr Katrine Jaedicke from the University of Newcastle; 2012 - Dr Patricia Miguez from the University of Pennsylvania - 2013 Dr Mervi Gürsoy from the University of Turku in Finland; 2014 Dr Paola dePablo from the University of Birmingham UK; 2015 Dr Vanessa Alves from Sao Paolo University; 2016 - Dr Kristina Bertyl of The Medical University of Vienna; 2017 Dr Matthew Mason from The University of North Carolina Chapel Hill; 2018 Dr Simone Marconcini from Pisa University; 2019 - Dr Allan Radiac of The University of California San Francisco for a study entitles “ The Oral Microbiome Signature of Oral Cancer Transitions ”; and in 2020 the winner was Dr Sing - Wai Wong of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA, with a project titled "Non-canonical autophagy modulates periodontal inflammation”. This is a truly global award with a fantastic array of winners from 4 continents.


Applicants must be full or student members of the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG) at the time of application.

Applications which involve visiting a laboratory/research centre in a different continent will be favoured, as we wish to encourage global collaborations.

The research proposal must have a clinical theme in line with POHC’s desire to support and promote clinical research. Studies that are purely laboratory-based and not involving human material/samples will not be considered.



  1. A research abstract of no more than 300 words should be submitted to facilitate initial screening.
  2. A 1-page (A4) CV and a 1-page (A4) personal statement are required.
  3. A 2-page (A4) protocol (excluding references which may run to a 3rd page) is required.
  4. The protocol must include the following:
    1. A brief description of the background to the proposed research project with emphasis on its relevance and importance to periodontology.
    2. Clear aims and objectives.
    3. A clear description of the proposed methods, including any power estimates, if applicable.
    4. Confirmation that ethical review board approval will be sought if relevant. The project may not commence unless these approvals are in place and in accordance with international standards.
    5. Statistical methods.
    6. Broad details of the proposed use of funding.
    7. Methods of knowledge dissemination.
  5. A letter of recommendation is needed from the applicant’s Department Head or Dean, who should be a member of the IADR PRG.
  6. A letter of agreement/support from any proposed collaborating centre.
  7. Confirmation of the applicant’s IADR membership number in a covering letter.



All awards will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the IADR 98 th General Session & Exhibition a virtual experience.  The amount of the grant is US$10,000 towards consumables for a one-year research project and travel costs to a collaborating centre at economy class rates.  The grant is not intended to cover subsistence or living costs.



  • Applications should be submitted electronically to the PRG Past President, Professor Iain L C Chapple, Birmingham Dental School, 5 Mill Pool Way, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B5 7EG, UK; (e-mail
  • The judging panel will comprise the President, Immediate Past-President, Secretary, and a senior representative of POHC.
  • Applications that exceed the word limit (for abstracts) and page limit (for protocol and CV and references) will not be assessed.
  • The main judging criteria will be relevance/importance and scientific quality, but an upward moderation will apply for intercontinental collaborative applications.
  • No panel member should have a personal interest in the participating projects.
  • Successful applicants will be notified within a month of the IADR meeting.
  • Any applicant not receiving notification up to the IADR meeting should assume they have been unsuccessful on that occasion.
  • The decision of the panel will be final and not open to appeal.
  • The winner will be the proposal with the highest total rank score of the four judges (1st = 4, 2nd =3, 3rd =2, 4th =1).
  • In the case of a tie, the applicant with the greatest number of first rank scores will be awarded the grant, OR preference will be given to a project that involves intercontinental collaboration.
  • If there remains a tie, the Panel’s Chair will make the final decision.
  • The PRG reserves the right to withhold an award.



For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Iain L. C. Chapple
Head of the School of Dentistry
Professor of Periodontology
Birmingham School of Dentistry
5 Mill Pool Way,
Birmingham B5 7EG


Past Recipients

2021: Carla Álvarez Rivas, The Forsyth Institute, Cambridge, MA, USA with University of Bergen, Norway

2020: Sing-Wai Wong, University of North Carolina
        Project Title: Non-canonical autophagy modulates periodontal inflammation
2019: Allan Radiac, University of California, San Francisco
2018: Simone Marconcini, Istituto Stomatologico Toscano, Italy
2017: Matthew Mason, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
2016: Kristina Bertyl, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
2015: Vanessa Tubero Euzebio Alves, The Forsyth Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
2014: Paola de Pablo, The University of Birmingham, UK.
2013: Mervi Gursoy, University of Turku, Finland
2012: Patricia Miguez, University of Pennsylvania, USA
2011: Katrin Jaedicke, University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
2010: Mandeep Ghuman, King's College, London, UK
2009: Nagihan Bostanci, Zurich University, Switzerland
2008: Moritz Kebschull, Columbia University, New York
2007: Fa-ming Chen, Fourth Military Medical University, Xi'an P.R. China