The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

This research award is sponsored by REGEDENT AG and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG). The objective is to recognize investigators who have made significant contributions in basic and/or clinical research in the field of regenerative periodontal medicine.


Applicants must have significant basic or clinical research accomplishments in the field of regenerative periodontal or periimplant medicine and be full members of the PRG at the time of application.



The award is presented at the annual business meeting of the PRG during the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR. It consists of a cash prize of $5,000 and a plaque.



Nominations are invited for eligible IADR PRG members (self-nominations are accepted.) Nomination packages should be submitted electronically by December 31, 2020 to:
Dr. Anton Sculean

Nominations must include the following information about the candidate in a single pdf file:

  • Name and Contact Information
  • Short NIH-style Curriculum Vitae
  • Five (5) publications



The judging panel is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Secretary, and Immediate Past President of the PRG. Panel members review the nomination materials for each candidate and independently rank each nominee. The nominee with the highest total ranked score will be the award’s recipient. In the case of a tie, the applicant with the greatest number of first rank scores will be awarded the prize. If there remains a tie, the Panel’s Chair (PRG President) will make the final decision. The main judging criteria are relevance of a nominee’s work in the field of regenerative periodontal or periimplant medicine, the scientific quality of his/her peer-reviewed publications, and the overall impact his/her research work has made to the understanding of the dynamics and mechanisms of periodontal or periimplant regeneration. The decision of the panel is final and not open to appeal. The PRG reserves the right to withhold an award.


For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Anton Sculean, D.M.D., Dr. med. Dent., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Periodontology
University of Bern
Freiburgstrasse 7
3010 Bern



Past Recipients

2021: Sašo Ivanovski, University of Queenlands, Australia
Dana Graves, University of Pennsylvania, USA
2019: Soren Jepsen, University of Bonn, Germany
2018: Shinya Murakami, Osaka University, Japan
2017: David Cochran, University of Texas, San Antonio, USA
2016: William Giannobile, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
2015: Mariano Sanz, University Complutense Madrid, Spain
2014: Mark Bartold, University of Adelaide, Australia
2013: Andreas Stavropoulos, Malmö, Sweden
2012: Anton Sculean, University of Bern, Switzerland
2011: Nikos Donos, Eastman Dental Institute, London, England, UK
2010: Martha Somerman, University of Washington, Seattle, USA and
        Ulf Wikesjo, Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, USA