The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Deadline: January 17, 2022

This award is sponsored by Colgate-Palmolive and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG).

In honor of the PRG’s Past Presidents, the Group is offering the PRG Presidents’ Travel Award in line with its focus on enhancing research and attracting junior researchers into academia.


The abstract must be presented at the IADR General Session & Exhibition. The award is open to post-doctoral and pre-doctoral students who:

  • Have an accepted abstract in Periodontology;
  • Are presenting the abstract themselves; and
  • Have a member of the PRG as their mentor.



You must submit an abstract for the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR by the abstract deadline date, January 17, 2021, adhering to the usual submission procedures. In the awards section of the on-line abstract submission process select "Periodontal Research Group Presidents’ Travel Award.”



The three Review Groups within the PRG (Diagnosis/Epidemiology, Therapy and Pathogenesis) will each select two qualified abstracts, and a panel consisting of past PRG Presidents will select the winner. A letter from the mentor will then be solicited to confirm that the winner fulfills the eligibility criteria listed above, as well as that no additional substantial travel stipends have been received for the same trip.



The award will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the General Session. The award is meant to cover travel to and accommodation at the IADR General Session. For travel to a meeting site that is on the same continent as the applicant’s residence, the award will amount to US $2,000. For travel to a different continent, the award will amount to US $3,000. 


Abstract Deadline: January 17, 2021


For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Panos N. Papapanou, DDS, PhD
Professor of Dental Medicine
Chair, Section of Oral and Diagnostic Sciences
Director, Division of Periodontics
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine


Past Recipients

2020: Araceli Maria Valverde Estepa, University of Illinois, Chicago, USA
        Abstract title: MicroRNA and periodontal pathogen interaction in shaping innate immune response 
2019: Haiqing Liao, Wuhan University, China
2018: Flora Momen-Heravi, Columbia University, USA
2017: Isabel-Lopez Olivia, University of Brimingham, UK
2016: Hyeran Jeon, University of Pennsylvania, USA
2015: Matthew Mason, Ohio State University, Columbus, USA
2014: Christiane Gocke, Greifswald University, Germany
2013Moritz Kebschull, University of Bonn, Germany
2012: Christin Stoecklin-Wasmer, Columbia University, New York, USA
2011: Lisa J. Palmer, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
2010: Irundika Dias, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom