The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

The Periodontal Research Group of the IADR makes an annual award in recognition of the contribution to Periodontal Research by Dr. Sigmund S. Socransky. The award recognizes promising investigators who are members of the Periodontal Research Group, are under 40 years of age, do not hold a full professorship or chairmanship, and have contributed significantly to periodontal biological and/or clinical research. Nominations can be submitted by any PRG member. The award amounts to $2,500


Nominees must: 

  • Be members of the Periodontal Research Group under 40 years of age.
  • Not hold a full professorship or chairmanship.
  • Have contributed significantly to periodontal biological and/or clinical research.

Past winners (including Anthony Rizzo Award winners) are not eligible for the competition again, but unsuccessful candidates can be re-nominated. Nominations can be made by any member of the Periodontal Research Group. 

Nomination packages must be submitted by December 31 of each year and must include:

  • A recommendation/ nomination letter which confirms the above listed eligibility criteria.
  • The candidate's Curriculum Vitae together with his/her 5 best publications.



Please submit nomination packages electronically (pdf files) to:

Panos N. Papapanou, DDS, PhD
Professor of Dental Medicine
Chair, Section of Oral, Diagnostic and Rehabilitation Sciences
Director, Division of Periodontics
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine



December 31, 2020


Past Recipients

Sigmund S. Socransky Award

2021: Renato Casarin, State University of Campinas, Piracicaba Dental School, Brazil

2020: Richard Miron, University of Bern, Switzerland

2019: Vivek Thumbigere Math, University of Maryland, USA

2018: Tomoki Maekawa, Niigata University, Japan

2017: Moritz Kebschull, University of Bonn, Germany & Columbia University, New York, USA

2016: Hector Rios, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA

2015: Luigi Nibali, University College of London, UK

2014: Nagi Bostanci, University of Zurich, Switzerland

2013: Darnell Kaigler, University of Michigan, USA


Anthony A. Rizzo Award

2012: George Belibasakis, University of Zurich, Switzerland

2011: David Herrera, University Complutense Madrid, Spain

2010: Wim Teughels, University of Leuven, Belgium

2009: Francesco D’Aiuto, University College London, UK

2008: No award

2007: Philip Preshaw, Newcastle University, United Kingdom

2006: Andreas Stavropoulos, Aarhus University, Denmark

2005: Scott Kachlany, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, USA

2004: Phoebus Madianos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece; and Anton Sculean, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany (Shared award)

2003: Evie Lalla, Columbia University, USA

2002: Will Giannobile, University of Michigan, USA

2001: Ian Chapple, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom

2000: No award

1999: Lior Shapira, Hadassah University, Israel

1998: Shinya Murakami, Osaka University, Japan

1997: Maurizio Tonetti, University of Bern, Switzerland

1996: Panos N. Papapanou, Göteborg University, Sweden