The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Deadline: January 17, 2022

New investigators in Prosthodontics are encouraged to apply for one of two 2022 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics. Each Award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for Prosthodontic research undertaken with a Materials Science or Bioengineering oriented protocol and the other is for Prosthodontic research undertaken with a Biological Sciences and Tissue Engineering oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals.

Each award carries a cash prize of $1,000.

Research submitted for the 2022 IADR/APR General Session & Exhibition in Chengdu, China., is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Abstracts must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR by the deadline (January 17, 2022) with the appropriate boxes on the on-line submission checked.

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation, (2) suitability of the methods of analysis, and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists asked to submit manuscripts and these and their oral presentation will be judged at the 2022 IADR/APR General Session & Exhibition. The oral presentation should be 10 minutes in length and is followed by 5 minutes of questions about the research from the judges and the audience. Frechette finalists who are not confident of their English Language skills may choose to designate a colleague to translate questions; however, this person must not add to the responses or "improve" on the finalist's answers. The winners will receive their awards at the Prosthodontics Research Group Business Meeting.



Additional information about the Frechette Competition can be obtained from:
Stephen Rosenstiel
Professor and Chairman
Division of Restorative and Prosthetic Dentistry
The Ohio State University, College of Dentistry
305 West 12th Avenue
P.O. Box 182357
Columbus OH, 43218-2357


Past Recipients

2020 Recipients
Phoonsuk Limraksasin,Division of Molecular and Regenerative Prosthodontics,  Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry, Sendai-city, Miyagi, Japan

Bruna Egumi Nagay, Piracicaba Dental School, (UNICAMP), Brazil

2018 Recipients
Nicole Kalberer, University of Geneva, Switzerland
“CAD/CAM Milled Versus Rapidly-prototyped Complete Dentures: An Evaluation of Trueness” 

Elizabeth Boone, University College London, London

“Remaining Dentine Thickness to Pulp Assessed With Optical Coherence Tomography” 

2017 Recipients
Biological science category: Jin Wen, Columbia University Medical Center, New York
“Systemic Evaluation of Trace Elements-substituted Titanium Implants in Ovariectomized Rats.” 

Materials and clinical sciences category: Mason Bates (University of Texas, Houston)
“Mechanical Properties of of Pigmented Maxillafacial Silicone Elastomers”

2016 Recipients
Emilio Hara, Okayama University, Okayama-shi, Japan for “Chondrocyte Burst Promotes Space for Mineral Expansion During Initial Mineralization”

Candida Parisi, University of Bologna, Bologna, Italy  for “Translucency of Monolithic Hybrid Cubic/Tetragonal Zirconia Crowns: A Comparative Study”

2013 Recipients
Biological Science Category: Miha Brezavscek, Department of Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry, Albert-Ludwigs University, Freiburg, Germany for “The effect of ultraviolet light treatment on the osteoconductivity of zirconia-based implant materials”

Materials and Clinical Sciences Category: T. James Lee, Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Tokyo, Japan for “Compositional Analysis on Mechanical Properties and Biocompatibility of Titanium-Zirconium Alloy”

2012 Recipients
Biological Science Category: Shinya Uraguchi, Osaka University, Japan for "Enhanced osteogenesis of iPS cellsby Id2 gene knockout."

Materials and Clinical Sciences Category: D. Mota Moreira, University of Texas, San Antonio, USA for "Antibacterial activity of a novel silver nanoparticle-leaded orthodontic band cement."

2011 Recipients
Lei Jin, Nanjing General Hospital of Nanjing Military Command, Nanjing, Jiangsu, China for “Property Study of Nano-zirconia Formed by Aqueous Electrophoretic Deposition”

R. Kodali Kanuru, University of California, Los Angeles, California for “Pre-Osseointegrated Implant Using Cell Sheet Technology”.

2010 Recipients
Robert L. Smith, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, Fl, USA, for his study entitled “Long-Term Microtensile Bond Strength of Surface Modified Zirconia.”

Takao Watamoto, Osaka University Graduate School of Dentistry, Suita, Japan for his study entitled “Antifungal resistance gene expressions in various lifestyles of Candida albicans”.