The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Deadline: March 1, 2021

The award recognizes original research by new investigators in the multidisciplinary field of pre-prosthetic or prosthodontics-related regenerative science, including, but not limited to, tissue engineering, bone, tooth and soft-tissue regenerative sciences, graft materials research, maxillofacial reconstructive biology and physiology and implant biological research. The awards are co-sponsored by the IADR Prosthodontics Research Group and Japan Prosthodontic Society.


The abstract must be presented within the Prosthodontics Research Group Session (either oral or poster presentation) of the IADR General Session, and the research presented must not have been published or considered for publication prior to the date of abstract submission. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed scientific journals.




Research submitted for the 2021 IADR/APR General Session & Exhibition a virtual experience is eligible for consideration for the award. Finalists for the award will be selected from the abstracts accepted for the General Session, and requested to submit a 5-page extended abstract in order to compete, under the condition that the finalist meets the eligibility mentioned above.  The finalists for Frechette Competition will be excluded from the pool of the Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Award finalists, whereas the applicants for the Frechette Competition who are not selected as its finalist will be considered. The extended abstracts will be judged for originality and scientific design of the research, and the scientific merit.




All awards will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the 2021 IADR/APR General Session & Exhibition a virtual experience. The following awards will be given:

1st Place- $1,000
2nd Place-$500



For further information concerning this award, please contact:
Manabu Kanazawa, D.D.S., Ph.D., Gerodontology and Oral Rehabilitation
Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences, Tokyo Medical and Dental University (TMDU)


Past Recipients


2020 Recipients
First Place: Nguyen Thi Thu Ha, School of Dentistry, Okayama University Graduate School of Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Second Place: Raphael Cavalcante Costa, PhD student in Prosthodontics, Piracicaba Dental School, University of Campinas (UNICAMP)

2018 Recipients
First Place: Thuy Vo, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Japan, “Are One-Implant Overdentures Superior to Complete Dentures in Masticatory Function?”

Second Place: Chie Watanabe, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Japan, “Chronological Changes in Supporting Alveolar Bone by RPD Placement”

2017 Recipients
First Place: Shu Matsuoka, University of Osaka, Japan, “Effects of PKC Inhibitor on Osteogenic Differentiation of Stem Cells”

Second Place: Qiming Jin, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, “Sclerostin Antibody Enhances the Alveolar Bone Regeneration Surrounding Dental Implants”

2016 Recipients
First Place: Ahreum Lee, Yonsei Univeristy, Korea, "Enhanced Osseointegration of Dual TiO2 Nanotube Implants With Controlled BMP-2 Release"

Second Place: Valentim Barão, University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil, "Production of a Biofunctional Titanium Surface Using Plasma Treatments"

2013 Recipients
First Place: Fangfang Wang, “Transcriptional Activation of Amelogenin Enhances Osteogenesis of Mesenchymal Stem Cells

Second Place: Brigitte Altmann, “Three-dimensional cell culture of human alveolar osteoblasts in microchipbased bioreactors

2011 Recipients
First Place: Ken Ishizaki
Second Place: Dr. William Custodio

2010 Recipients
First Place: Sho Fukuyasu
Second Place: Mizuho Sasaki