The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 



Sponsored by Dentsply Sirona

The Executive Committee of the Women in Science Network of IADR announces the Women in Science Award for Distinguished Research. This award recognizes a single research paper published between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020, in the Dental/Oral/ Craniofacial Research; both applied and basic research papers are eligible.

The Women in Science Award for Distinguished Research is intended to recognize excellence in Oral/ Dental/ Craniofacial Research by a female researcher (first or senior author).  The First/Senior author is the recipient of the plaque and check, but all of the authors are recognized.


  • Female first or senior author.
  • First/senior author recognized must be a member of the IADR Women in Science Network.
  • The nominee must be within 10 years of completing her last terminal degree (PhD, DDS, DMD, MD, etc.) at the time of the submission deadline.



The award committee will accept self-nominations or nominations by others until March 31, 2021. The paper should be accompanied by a brief letter describing why it is deemed worthy of the award. Nominations will be acknowledged by email to WISN chair person, described below. The first/senior author for the manuscript selected for the award should be present at the appropriate IADR General Session to accept the award. If this is not possible, someone should be designated to accept the award on their behalf. The primary author of the award will serve as one of the five judges for two years following receipt of the award, and will not be permitted to compete for the award during that two-year period.



The first/senior author will receive a cash award of $200, but all of the authors of the awarded paper will be recognized in the plaque. 



Please send your nominations to:
Mangala Patel


Past Winners

2021 recipient
Caroline Sawicki
New York University, USA

2020 recipient
Niki Ruparel

UT Health San Antonio, USA

2019 recipient
Aurea Simon-Soro
University of Pennsylvania, USA

2018 recipient
Elena Calciolari
Queen Mary University of London, UK

2017 recipient
Flavia R. Teles
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

2016 recipient
Erin Ealba
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA