The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 



Sponsored by Dentsply Sirona

The Executive Committee of the Women in Science Network of IADR announces the Women in Science Award for Distinguished Female Mentor. This award recognizes a female researcher-mentor who has made an impact on other young women’s careers in the area of Dental/Oral/ Craniofacial Research.

The Women in Science Award for Distinguished Female Mentor is intended to recognize excellence in mentorship by a female researcher who has mentored several women in the area of Oral/ Dental/ Craniofacial Research and has made a significant impact in their career development.  


  • Female
  • Must be a member of the IADR Women in Science Network
  • Must have mentored other women in the area of Oral/ Dental/ Craniofacial Research



The award committee will accept self-nominations or nominations by mentees until May 1, 2021. The nomination should be accompanied by the candidate’s CV that shows all mentored students/young faculty and a brief letter describing why she is deemed worthy of the award. Nominations will be acknowledged by email to WISN chair person, described below. The candidate selected for the award should be present at the appropriate IADR General Session to accept the award. If this is not possible, someone should be designated to accept the award on their behalf. The awardee will serve as one of the five judges for two years following receipt of the award, and will not be permitted to compete for the award during that two-year period.



A plaque will be given to the winner. 



Please send your nominations to:
Mangala Patel


Past Winners

2021 recipient
Altair Del Bel Cury, University of Campinas, Piracicaba, Brazil   

2020 recipient

Rena D'Souza, NIH

2019 recipient
Niki Moutsopoulos, NIH

2018 recipient
Magda Feres Guarulhos University, Sao Paulo, Brazil 

2017 recipient
Mary Macdougall University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

2016 recipient 
Judith Albino University of Colorado, Aurora, USA