The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

The IADR Network for Practice Based Research  makes an annual award in recognition of the late Dr. Ivar Mjör who was one of the promoters and founders of practice-based research in Europe, the USA and elsewhere in the world.  The award is made to recognize scientists who throughout his or her career has made distinguished contributions   to practice-based research  or has undertaken substantial research with great impact and relevance to the work of  dental practitioners.

The Ivar Mjör award is the highest award offered by the IADR for practice based research in dentistry.  Award includes a plaque of recognition and a cash award of $2000 USD

Travel Award

Deadline: January 17, 2022


Nominations for the Ivar Mjör award can be made by anyone, but MUST satisfy the following requirements:

  1. Nominee must be a current or past member of the IADR.
  2. Nominations must include curriculum vitae that provide supporting evidence that the nominee has made distinguished contributions to practice-based research.
  3. A letter of nomination should highlight the major reasons, body of research and innovations for which the individual is being nominated. Work contributing to the justification for the award should have resulted in publications in scientific, peer-reviewed journals of international standing.

Individuals may not self-nominate.


A plaque of recognition and a cash award of $2,000 USD. The cash award is intended to to contribute to travel and associated costs to attend the IADR General Session at which the award will be made. The award recipient will be formally announced and honoured during the IADR NP-BR Business Meeting at the IADR General Session.


The selection committee shall consists of three standing committee members of the IADR NP-BR, together including one past recipient of the award, once the award has been established. Unsuccessful nominations which satisfy the requirements for the award may be carried forward for two years. The IADR NP-BR reserves the right to withhold an award.

Deadline for nominations is Six months in advance of the IADR General Assembly at which it is hoped the award will be made.

Deadline: January 15, 2021


Please send nominations electronically to the Chair, Ivar Mjör Award Committee: Madhan Balasubramanian at