The IADR, AADOCR, and all Group/Network Communities will not be accessible from October 18-21, 2021 as IADR goes through site improvements. Thank you for your understanding. 

Deadline: January 17, 2022


To acknowledge excellence in Orthodontics Research conducted and presented by dental students and graduate students at the IADR General Session & Exhibition. 



  • All applicants must be members of IADR
  • All applicants must be members of the Orthodontics Research Group (ORG).
  • Competition is open only to dental students, dental residents, graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. Faculty members are not allowed to enter the competition.
  • Applicants must adhere to the IADR process for abstract submissions.
  • Abstracts must be submitted to the Orthodontics Research area of study.
  • Abstracts must be 300 words or less and have the following headings: Introduction, Methods, Results, and Conclusion.
  • The ORG Chair will confirm that the abstracts meet the award criteria.
  • Abstracts must be accepted under the normal IADR scientific review.
  • If any of the required criteria are not met, the entry will be disqualified.


How to Enter and Timeline

To submit your abstract for the CTOR Award, you must first submit your abstract to the IADR General Session & Exhibition ( and select the CTOR Award for Student Excellence in Orthodontics Research option. 

All abstracts must be submitted by the abstract submission deadline posted on the IADR General Session & Exhibition website.

Submitted abstracts follow the same timetable as all other submitted abstracts for the IADR General Session & Exhibition 

Winners will be selected among eligible applicants whose abstract has been accepted under the normal IADR scientific review.



The competition will be scheduled for the 1st or 2nd Day of the IADR meeting. All competitors must be present for the judging session.

10 abstracts from all entries (oral or poster) will be selected for the competition.

The abstract must present an advancement in Orthodontics.

For the competition, authors of the selected entries will present their work in poster format to 4 judges. (Please note that this presentation is in addition to the poster or oral presentation to be given at the IADR meeting.)

Each entrant will have 10 minutes to present their research plus 5 minutes for questions from the judges.



Three winners will be selected from the 10 competitors.

Each winner will receive a Certificate of Recognition and $300USD.

The remaining 7 competitors will receive a Certificate of Excellence



Cristina C Teixeira

Mani Alikhani


Sponsored by Consortium of Translational Orthodontic Research (CTOR)


Award Recipients:

Yehuda Klein
Mohammad Hamidaddin
Dian Jing